Tip Tuesday: How to set up access rights in Raven

How To

Tip Tuesday: How to set up access rights in Raven

As User Experience Manager for Raven, I see every single piece of correspondence that comes into our company. Bug reports, feature requests, usability questions — they all come to me so I can direct them to the person who help most efficiently.

One question that I see quite frequently is how to set up “access rights,” or give read-only users and sub-users limited information within Raven. While the initial setup takes you through a few steps, once you set up a few roles within Raven, you’ll be able to easily control access rights within the system.

Setting up user roles in Raven

1. Go to Admin tab, select Role Manager

2. Select which role you would like to set up: sub-user or read-only. Note: Sub-users count towards the number of users you can have in your account (2 for Pro, 8 for Agency), but you can have an unlimited number of read-only users.

 

3. Choose the access levels on all of the sections within Raven you’d like to assign to that role.

 

If you select “None” on any of the sections, those tabs will not be visible to the user whenever they login to Raven.

Setting up new users and assigning roles in Raven

1. Go to the Admin tab, select User Manager

 

2. Select either “Add Sub-User” or “Add Read-Only User”

 

3. Enter the user details

 

4. Assign a role to the user. When you create a new subuser or read-only user in the User Manager, the default role is “none.” We recommend that the default role stay none, especially for user accounts that are being used by clients. When Admins initially set up websites, profiles and users, they will sometimes change the default role to the role they want the user to have for their account. That’s fine if you only have one profile, or if you want that user to have access to all profiles with that role by default. However, that’s not ideal if you’re going to have several profiles or will be adding more profiles in the future, and you only want them to have access to one or more profiles. If you want a user to only have access to one or more profiles, and you don’t want them to automatically have access to a profile that might be created in the future, you should keep the role set to none. By default, all of the profiles for a user are set to “use default,” which in this case is set to “none.”

 

5. Need to limit a user to a single profile or website? Assign the role you’d like to use for just that profile. Then, to then limit access to websites within that profile, check the box next to “customize” for access to specific sites.

Alison Groves is the User Evangelist for Raven Internet Marketing Tools. She helps make the things that make dreams take flight. She likes sports, yelling, and yelling at sports.

More about Alison Groves | @RavenAlison

Comments are closed on this post