Did you know? How to

How To

Did you know? How to “archive” a website in Raven

One great thing about using Raven for your Internet marketing business is that as your client base grows, Raven scales along with you. Whether you’re tracking SEO campaigns for a single client or a hundred, we’ve got your back. But what about when one of those clients suspends their account with you? You know they’ll be back, but you also don’t want to sacrifice usage to an inactive client.

Although there isn’t a one-step method of archiving websites in Raven, it is possible to shrink a website’s usage footprint to the point that it’s negligible without actually deleting any historic data. To “archive” a website in Raven, follow these steps:

Pause your search engines

By far, the most frequent overage we see from users is in SERP Tracker. If you only follow one step in this post, this should be the one.

The way that we bill for SERP Tracker is based on ranking results, which are calculated by multiplying the amount of keywords being tracked with the amount of search engines those keywords are being tracked on.For instance, if you’re tracking 200 keywords on Google and Bing, that comes out to 400 ranking results (200×2 = 400). But, if you pause those two search engines, you effectively zero out the equation (200×0 = 0).

Raven's SERP Tracker

To pause a search engine, navigate to Metrics > Rankings and click the “Search Engines” icon in the tool icons.

Pause SERP Tracking in Raven Tools

You’ll see a list of search engines on this page with “Pause” links next to each instance. Just click “Pause” to stop tracking.

The advantage of doing it this way instead of removing the search engines altogether is you’ll still be able to view historic rankings quickly and easily by clicking the keyword name.

Turn off Link Monitoring

If you’re using Link Monitoring to manage your link building efforts, you’re using it in one of two ways: to track all of your links or to only track a handful of your links.

Turn off Link Monitoring in Raven

If you’re monitoring all of your links, the solution here is simple – just turn off Link Monitoring. Navigate to Links > Link Manager and click the “Link Monitoring” icon in the tool icons. Switch the “Monitor Links” setting from “All” to “Individual.” That’s it!

Turn off Link Monitoring in Raven

If you’re monitoring individual links, it’s a bit trickier. First, you need to find the links. While in Link Manager, you can filter your links by Link Monitoring status. To do this, create a new Filter Set and choose “Monitoring” from the first dropdown menu. Choose “Monitored Links” from the second menu to bring up all of your links that have monitoring turned on.

Disable monitored links

Select all of these links and choose “Disable Link Monitoring” from the “Bulk Actions” menu. Click “Apply” to deactivate monitoring on all of these links.

Alternatively, you can also just change your frequency from “Daily” or “Weekly” to “Monthly” in Link Monitoring Settings (accessible from the “Link Monitoring” icon).

Delete Social Monitor Searches

You’re allotted a limited amount of  Social Monitor searches in a given month. If you’re approaching the overage line on any of these, you many want to delete the reports out of your archival website.

Remove Backlink Explorer in Raven

To remove Social Monitor searches, navigate to Social Monitor (Social > Monitor) and use the “Bulk Actions” menu to remove the searches. Click the checkbox next to “Search Term” then select “Delete Search.” Click “Apply” to remove the searches.

Note: The original version of this post suggested that you also delete Backlink Explorer and Site Finder reports. That is not necessary, as usage for these tools resets each month on your billing date. There is no need to delete these reports to save yourself any usage.

Organize

Now that you’ve minimized your usage for this website, we recommend a couple of organizational steps.

  1. Create an event. Navigate to Site > Events and add a new event stating when you archived the site, along with any details you’d like to include about the archival (what steps you took, for instance, in case you need a reminder on what you need to reactivate when/if the client unsuspends their account). This will appear on all of the graphs in Raven, explaining any missing holes in data in the future.
  1. Move the website to a new Profile. You may find it useful to completely segregate archived websites away from active accounts. To do this, create a new profile in the Profiles dropdown menu. This requires admin access – regular subaccounts are not able to create or delete profiles, websites or users. After creating a new profile, navigate to Site > Settings on your archived website and, at the bottom of this page choose the new profile from the “Move to a Different Profile” menu.

This process isn’t just for putting clients into a stasis mode – you can also use it to archive websites that change domains. Because it isn’t possible to simply change the domain of an existing website in Raven, you’ll need to create the new domain in a new website. This process is useful for retaining historic data in those situations.

Lance is a User Support Specialist at Raven Internet Marketing Tools. He spends his days assisting Raven users with their support requests, writing technical documentation and compulsively creating Spotify playlists. If you ask him nicely, he might make you a mixtape.

More about Lance Conzett | @RavenConz

Comments are closed on this post